Changing How We Eat

I have been meaning to watch “Supersize Me” for a number of years now. I’ll admit when it first came out, I willfully chose NOT to watch it. I was afraid that it would ruin McDonald’s french fries for me for good (and being the consummate french fry lover that I am, and MickyD’s being the best, that was not a viable option). But in more recent years, as I’ve become more health conscious I have thought I’d like to watch it – not that I ever acted on that impulse, but it was there.

Then a few months ago Joel’s brother and sister-in-law were telling us about “Food Inc.” another documentary they recently watched. Listening to them it was almost like hearing someone talk about a conspiracy theory – except it was all true. I was almost afraid to watch this one. But Joel and I did rent it… and renew it and finally return it, still unwatched.

But this week I decided it was time. I’m not really sure what my impetus was, but I watched them back to back on Netflix (gotta love it). Maybe it was that I was looking at the large (yes, McDonald’s) fries container and reading that I just consumed 25 grams of fat, 48% of my daily total. I think I might have decided I needed a kick in the pants.

It’s not even that I’m a really unhealthy eater – I actually eat fairly healthy. I don’t drink soda, eat candy/chocolate, or drink coffee. But it’s kind of like in my spiritual walk. I can be doing pretty good, staying away from all the big sins, but kind of half-heartedly pursuing my devotion – that’s not healthy or anywhere close to the potential and calling God has for me. It’s the same thing with food.

After watching these two documentaries – which I highly recommend (seriously, watch them), I was impressed by how little I know about what I’m actually eating and how much our eating and food growing/processing has changed in the last 60 years. It’s no wonder 1 in 3 people will get cancer in their lifetime. We are feeding our bodies crap – and it wasn’t like this just 2 generations ago. I won’t go into everything I learned, because there is no way I could do it justice, but ultimately my take away was that we are drastically changing how we are going to eat and grocery shop.

We had decided a few weeks ago that we wanted to try a garden this year – we have plenty of room for it and really great soil. That was further cemented after this week. We are going to buy as much as possible from farmer’s markets and local farms. We are going to be radically cutting out fast food and processed foods. We’re not going to go crazy and never have them again, but we are going to be dramatically reducing how much we eat them.

Joel has been tired and suffered allergies his whole life – with his dad owning a fast food restaurant, probably 80% of the food he’s eaten in his life has been from there. After learning about how this overly processed, chemically treated, genetically modified food affected the Supersize Me guy, I know that his eating habits are huge cause of this. But we are ready for a change.

The last few weeks, even the proceeding few months, have really been a re-awakening of passion and devotion in both of us. Even as we are starting to make this change it is an outward sign of an inward reality. We really feel that doing our garden is going to be significant – not just in a physical way, but in some spiritual way too. This really is reordering our life. We are coming alive again and bringing balance to areas sorely lacking.

This entry was posted in 30 Day Bloggrimage, Home Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing How We Eat

  1. First of all, can I just say that I am super jealous of your ability to grow a huge garden where you live? I bet you have fabulous weather and soil for growing. Colorado gardening is just, well, difficult. Plus we don’t have ton of room in our yard and we would have to get approval from the owners and it will be expensive, blah, blah, blah! Still yet I am determined to attempt some sort of garden this year.
    Anyways, I am super proud of you. I think just having the knowledge is key. And I think we need a revolution in our nation on how we feed people. Regardless, like I said before it is all about baby steps. Eat more veggies. Cook more from scratch. Try to eat the majority of your meat from organic, grass fed, non hormone sources. And I think it is wise to let yourself have a splurge every once in a while. I can’t because of my allergies, but it is good to be realistic. Although I still have Chick-fil-a french fries every once in a blue moon. But I think as you start eating better, you won’t even want that kind of food anymore. Find easy go to meals so you won’t be tempted to eat out as much. Let me know if you need any recipes or suggestions! Love you friend.

  2. Vanessa says:

    I can appreciate the tie between your spiritual walk and food..and other areas in life too. Gardening is a huge contributor to health in the summer and it carries over into the winter a when we do our canning. I have the say that it will really help me focus on my walk differently and indulge my SELF less both eating and spiritually. The challenge, metaphorically speaking, will be to keep it through winter.
    Nice blog!

Leave a Reply

