Days 6-7: Spring is Here!

Can I just say that I have been far too busy enjoying the absolutely GORGEOUS weather to take time to check my email, facebook or blog? The last two days here have been in the high 70’s, and after a winter that felt like it was never going to end I am loving the warm. We spent the better part of Sunday afternoon working in our yard and getting our flowerbeds cleaned out. We’re not done yet, but it already looks so much better! We have a burn pile that is taller than we are 🙂 which makes Joel happy. And since we spend so much time pulling, raking, hauling  I’ve decided it totally counts as exercise for the day – I’m even sore today.

We are so excited about having a pretty yard this year – and even trying to have a vegetable garden. We have an amazingly large yard with great soil, so it really makes sense to have a garden. Last year it was pretty much impossible for me to be outside because of the mosquitoes. However, at the end of summer (of course) we discovered a large pond behind our garage, that we had pulled out earlier that year, and had gotten filled with water. So it had become a breeding ground for the creatures of the fall (as I call them)…pure evil. So hopefully with that gone, that will make it much better this year. My problem is that they LOVE me, and I am so allergic to them. Even now the 4 bites I got at the end of the day yesterday are swollen, bright angry red and huge. They probably won’t be gone for over a week. I use cortisone cream and just took a Benadryl because they are so bad  – that’s me and mosquito bites.

In the midst of all of the yard work I also managed to get all of our laundry washed – and tonight I got it all folded. I hate folding laundry. So often it just sits in the basket, and we pull things out until it’s time to do laundry again. So yay me for getting it all folded at once – now I just need to put it all away, but that’s not so bad.

I also used our new vacuum today. It’s awesome. I really wanted a Dyson ball, but I wasn’t willing to spend that much – especially since we only have one room that is carpeted and then rugs. So our Hoover WindTunnel is great.

Overall feeling really good about the last two days and the balance of getting things done as well as trying new things.

This entry was posted in 30 Day Bloggrimage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Days 6-7: Spring is Here!

  1. Sounds like a lovely weekend! We’re supposed to get a rain/snow/sleet here in Detroit tomorrow… I am not even thinking about flower beds yet. Glad you enjoyed your vacuum! I had a dyson hand vac once… It was no better than any other hand vac. you were probably very wise to go for the Hoover!

Leave a Reply

