Reordering My Life: 30 Day Bloggrimage #1

So it’s been awhile since I’ve been on – a lot has been going on, but rather delving into all of that I’m going to just jump in like it’s perfectly normal for me to be blogging and tell you that I am starting my second 30-Day Bloggrimage. (If you have no idea what a Bloggrimage is see the Facebook page “30-Day Bloggrimage”.Β  This is an awesome idea my friends Pradeepan and Joe started last year, and I’m excited to be participating again this year. I was debating what to do my Bloggrimage on – learning a new art form and exercising every day were my top contenders- when I had an epiphany.

I am going to do my Bloggrimage on reordering my life.

Because honestly that is what this is all about. I want to be someone who is healthy, full of energy and fit. I want to express myself creatively and challenge my creative side. I want to be reading my BibleΒ  – as well as reading in general, more. I want to cook more, and new recipes. I want to watch less TV…a goal that has become much more easy since our free cable was disconnected πŸ™‚ . I want to reorder my life.

So basically I’m taking all the areas I made new years resolutions (or goals, as I prefer to say) and chronicling how I’m working to achieve them.

Today my focus was on getting things in order to begin. So I took mine and Joel’s measurements – we both weighed in on the Wii, and we’ve set our 30 day goals. I did some Wii Zumba tonight – which is by far my favorite way to exercise. I like Wii Fit a lot, but Zumba is just much more aerobic.

I am one of those people that hates exercising, can’t run around the block to save my life and has to trick myself into doing things that are a workout. This worked well when I was serving at a large restaurant, walking briskly all the time and carrying heavy trays of drinks and plates of food around. But now that I’m at a desk most of the day, every day I have noticed that my jeans are quite tight, and if I want to keep eating all my homemade goodies and french fries that I love, some exercising must occur. Joel’s much the same. He injured his knee playing soccer a few years back and hasn’t been able to play since, which was his primary form of exercise. So we are both going to practice being disciplined and get in shape.

Another part of reordering my life is getting to some of those projects that I’ve been meaning to get done. You know the ones – the closet that needs cleaning out, the spare room that continually just collects what doesn’t go anywhere else in the house, the bathroom that is stripped and textured but needs to be painted – yes, those are all real projects I have πŸ™‚ . But today I conquered something else.

Joel and I went through his closet.

This is something I have wanted to do since I moved here, but it just hasn’t been a priority. However over the weekend I bought Joel some new clothes, and he kept saying I have something like that, and I’m thinking, I’ve never seen it. So today we pulled out a large bag of clothes for the garage sale. Moved the clothes he’s not ready to discard but rarely wears to the back and brought to the front those clothes he should be wearing but had gotten lost in the closet. It was a great feeling.

I’m excited about this month and the accountability of writing about it. How about you – what is it in your life that you want to reorder?

This entry was posted in 30 Day Bloggrimage. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reordering My Life: 30 Day Bloggrimage #1

  1. Pradeepan says:

    Get it!

  2. Hi Shannon πŸ™‚ Realigning priorities, cleaning out closets, taking care of our bodies…. all so valuable in living a joyful life! I look forward to following you.

  3. Good on ya girly girl! I look forward to taking this journey with you. πŸ˜€

  4. Eric says:

    This is an awesome goal for a blogrimage! Will be reading!

Leave a Reply

