4 Day Weekends

I have thoroughly enjoyed this 4-day weekend, so much so that I really don’t want to go back to work tomorrow and get back to life as normal. Do you ever think that you need a 4-day weekend every week? I do. Normally we are so busy on weekends working, going to church and then you have to try to get some chores done, and before you know it the weekend is gone. And you haven’t done any of the things you really wanted to do with your days off. But not so this weekend.

We enjoyed a relaxing day on Thursday and then had Thanksgiving with the fam. I attempted to do Black Friday, but I am a total novice. If you really want to get the amazing deals (on electronics anyway) you have to really commit. You can’t partially commit and arrive at Target at 6:30 am, which I thought was respectably early, but alas no. All things worth getting up that early for were long gone. But I did get some good deals none-the-less, they would have been just as good later in the day after a full night’s sleep, but oh well :).

I then decided to work on a vintage cashmere coat that I found a few months ago. It was a little tent like and missing a button, so I decided to update it. I have been totally inspired by this girl in LA who has been doing this very thing for almost a year (Julie & Julia style) and recording it in her blog New Dress A Day. So I’m really excited about my coat and wanted to share it. I shortened the sleeves to make them 3/4 length, replaced the buttons and took in the sides to make it fit a little better.

What was even more amazing was that I started this project and finnished it all in the same day.

The weekend continued on Saturday when I made our post-Thanksgiving feast. I really wanted to make Thanksgiving for us, especially with it being our first one šŸ™‚ so we decided to have some friends over and do Thanksgiving dinner again on Saturday. It was totally fun, and went really well. It was my first time cooking everything myself. Yay me! Then today was church, a photo shoot and a relaxing dinner and movie at home.

See what I mean…you really need a 4-day weekend if you want to be able to get anything done :). Hope you enjoyed yours too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4 Day Weekends

  1. Oh Shannon! Next year you’ll have to get up 3 or 4 hours earlier šŸ˜‰ I got up at 3:30 and got the girls some $10 cute holiday dresses as well as toys galore! Your Saturday Thanksgiving sounds like so much fun! Congrats on making the whole meal yourself!

Leave a Reply

